Celebrate Christmas with Stravinsky in Budapest

This Christmas, on 27 December, head to the spectacular Palace of Arts and listen to the phenomenal National Festival Orchestra play Stravinsky’s Scherzo a la Russe, Tango, Firebird Suite and Rite of Spring.  Tango was the first work that Stravinsky wrote in its entirety in the USA, in 1940. Originally for piano, the first orchestral version was by Felix Guenther. Although Stravinsky endorsed it, in 1953 he decided to arrange it himself. Its première in 1953 was conducted by Robert Craft.

In his autobiography, My Life, Stravinsky wrote that he had the idea for The Rite of Spring while composing Firebird: in his imagination he saw a huge pagan folk ritual with two elders who sit kneeling as a young girl does a dance of death. She is then sacrificed to the God of Spring. It was premièred with choreography by Nijinsky in Paris in 1913, and it resulted in one of the most celebrated scandals in music and theatre history. The work calls for a vast array of instruments (five wood wind, eight horns, five trumpets etc.) and is in two sections: Adoration of the Earth and The Sacrifice.

Ticket Prices: 3950, 5100, 7300, 12000 Ft
27 December 2010, 7.45 pm – 10.00 pm
Bartók Béla National Concert Hall
Conductor: Ivan Fischer

Related Images:

About Charlotte J

Graduate, journalist, blogger and follower of all things media.