Pushkin House Becomes a Theatre

AnastasiaThis Christmas, Pushkin House presents the world premiere of “Anastasia” by Marcelle Maurette.  Set in a Berlin townhouse, in 1928, 10 years after the murder of the Tsar and his family at Ekaterinberg, rumours circulate among Russian exiles that one of the Tsar’s children survived the firing squad.

Taking advantage of this collective hope, three businessmen plot to gain access to the murdered Tsar’s millions by passing off a disturbed girl as that survivor. The girl is a fast learner, she makes a convincing Anastasia Nikolaevna, they just have to fool the Tsar’s mother – The Dowager Empress Maria Fyodorovna – and the money will be theirs.

This is not a fairy story or a sentimentalised account of the “Anastasia myth”, but an exploration of trauma, suffering, and loss and how the human soul tries to find respite and finally peace from it.
Performance Calendar

Fri 18 Dec 2009 19:30 Evening performance
Sat 19 Dec 2009 15:00 Matinee and 19:30 Evening performance
Mon 21 Dec 2009 19:30 Evening performance
Tue 22 Dec 2009 19:30 Evening performance
Wed 23 Dec 2009 19:30 Evening performance
Mon 28 Dec 2009 19:30 Evening performance
Tue 29 Dec 2009 19:30 Evening performance
Wed 30 Dec 2009 19:30 Evening performance
Sat 1 Jan 2010 15:00 Matinee and 19:30 Evening performance
Mon 4 Jan 2010 19:30 Evening performance
Tue 5 Jan 2010 19:30 Evening performance
Wed 6 Jan 2010 19:30 Evening performance
Thu 7 Jan 2010 19:30 Evening performance
Fri 8 Jan 2010 19:30 Charity evening performance
Sat 9 Jan 2010 19:30 Evening performance

For more information, visit www.walkingthoughts.co.uk

Tickets: £15.00, conc. £12.50 for Friends of Pushkin House

Related Images:

About Charlotte J

Graduate, journalist, blogger and follower of all things media.